Miley Cyrus Announces a Tracklist For Her New Rock Album, Plastic Hearts, Featuring Billy Idol and Joan Jett

Miley Cyrus - Music Industry Weekly
Miley Cyrus - Music Industry Weekly

Miley Cyrus announced the tracklist for her upcoming rock album, Plastic Hearts, out on November 27, 2020. The album features rock legends Billy Idol, Joan Jett, and Stevie Nicks.

The album was initially set for release in 2019 under the title ‘She is Miley Cyrus’, but was delayed due to the Covid-19 pandemic and her divorce from Liam Hemsworth.

This will be Cyrus’s seventh full-length album since “Younger Now,” released in 2017. Cyrus stated that Britney Spears and Metallica heavily inspired the album and that she has extensively worked with Mark Ronson to transform to her new sound.

Cyrus released her single “Midnight Sky” on August 14, 2020, giving fans a taste of what the album may sound like. She self-directed the music video and quoted female rock artists, including Nicks, Jett, and Debbie Harry, as an inspiration. Cyrus has taken a step back from country music and delved into a more pop-rock sound for Plastic Heart.

Miley released another song, “Prisoner,” ft. Dua Lipa on November 20, 2020. This song emanates 80s disco music’s vibes with a raucous touch of punk and pop culture. The song video managed to get 4 million views within hours of release.

Cyrus’s recent covers for “Zombie” by the Cranberries and “Heart of Glass” by Blondie will be featured in the digital edition of the album, along with a remix of “Midnight Sky” featuring Stevie Nicks titled “Edge of Midnight.” The album also features collaborations with amazing artists, with songs like “Prisoner,” which features Dua Lipa, and “Bad Karma,” which features the queen of rock, Joan Jett. Cyrus also promised an entire Metallica album cover album, which isn’t complete yet, but maybe something to look for in the future.

In an interview, Miley explained how each record in the album is an autobiography, shedding light on all the lessons she learned in the past several years, including her loss in Malibu, divorce with Liam, and split with Cody.

Plastic Hearts will be Miley’s most personal album. Besides the few singles already released, Cyrus posted the complete tracklist on her Instagram that you can find below!

Plastic Hearts Tracklist:

01. WTF Do I Know

02. Plastic Hearts

03. Angels Like You

04. Prisoner (feat. Dua Lipa)

05. Gimme What I Want

06. Night Crawling (feat. Billy Idol)

07. Midnight Sky

08. High

09. Hate Me

10. Bad Karma (feat. Joan Jett)

11. Never Be Me

12. Golden G String

We hope you’re as excited about the new Miley Cyrus album as we are!