Sufjan Stevens Announces New Album ‘The Ascension’, Shares “America” Single & Video


The post Sufjan Stevens Confirms the arrival of the latest album ‘The Ascension,’ Single & Video shares “America” is released on the LIVE music site.

Sufjan Stevens has announced his eighth solo studio album, The Ascension, which will be released on Asthmatic Kitty Records on September 25. The LP’s first single is out today, the final track on the album entitled “America,” along with a Stevens-filmed video.

From the Press Report:

“My objective for this album was simple: Interrogate the world around you. Question anything that doesn’t hold water. Exterminate all bullshit. Be part of the solution or get out of the way. Keep it real. Keep it true. Keep it simple. Keep it moving.”

“America” and “My Rajneesh” will be launched digitally on July 10 as a double-sided 12-inch single July 31 with “My Rajneesh.” See the video below and preorder the 12-inch here.



1. Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse (5:19)
2. Run Away With Me (4:07)
3. Video Game (4:16)
4. Lamentations (3:42)
5. Tell Me You Love Me (4:22)
6. Die Happy (5:47)
7. Ativan (6:32)
8. Ursa Major (3:43)
9. Landslide (5:04)
10. Gilgamesh (3:50)
11. Death Star (4:04)
12. Goodbye To All That (3:48)
13. Sugar (7:37)
14. The Ascension (5:56)
15. America (12:30)

The post Sufjan Stevens Announces New Album ‘The Ascension’, Shares “America” Single & Video appeared first on LIVE music blog.